Review on the Sovereign RDA

Hey guys, so here is my review for the Sovereign DNA clone. So first off lets go through the tech specs.

DEPTH: 21MM

HEIGHT: 58.5MM

WIDTH: 21MM

LIQUID VOLUME: WEIGHT: 110g

CONNECTION THREADING 510

COLOR Black MATERIAL
Stainless Steel

PACKAGE CONTENTS
1*Sovereign RDA

FEATURE 2.5mm deep drip well holds a lot of liquid.

Standard 510 connection fits most any mod device with a 510 top cap.

Negative contacts are part of the deck, not screwed in or spot welded. This means they are very solid. They also feature 2mm wire holes.

Recessed airflow control cap o-rings give it a tight seal but allow the cap to be adjusted easily.

Includes stainless steel pawn drip tip

Ok now that we are done with that lets begin our review.

The first thing you will notice is this thing has a look all its own. This will be a selling or sticking point for a lot of people. I mean the thing looks like something Sauron used to crush the will of man. Personally I dig the thing. Whether you love it or hate it you kinda have to respect that a company is willing to think outside the box. The unique style of this RDA also helps to disguise the fact that it isn’t 22mm.

Alright let’s go through everything you get.

The box Over all it’s solid for what it is. I like the image they have come up with so that’s a bonus.

Let’s open it up. So as you can see everything comes in its own little bag. Lets pull all that out of there. Notice that there are little cutouts for the RDA and the drip tip to rest in for secure transport.

Unbagging the goods All of the parts feel solid and well made.

How about some close ups?

Drip tip and RDA. There it is in all its glory.

Drip tip. This thing is a solid hunk of metal that looks like it should live on a chess board but is surprisingly comfortable to use.

Lets break it down. So here are the four parts that make up the RDA. The ‘mace head’ is your airflow with this RDA and is surprisingly effective. It can be ran in single and dual coil mode. I have tried both and was surprised with the results. Pretty solid flavor and a respectable cloud.

The deck. Pretty standard issue here. The negative posts are milled into the deck and then flat head screws work as they should. Deck was pretty dirty but a little alcohol and elbow grease and problem solved.

The deck again. Different angle on this one to show off those huge post holes. I had a 24 gauge dual coil on this deck without fighting for space in the post holes. You can also see the double o-rings at the bottom. It’s a snug fit with the cap on but at least you won’t worry about loosing it.

Removed the screws. I was looking for machine oil and other such things but thought I’d snap a pic while I was at it. Then while I was at it I got a close up of the screw looking for sharp edges, burrs or anything else that would effect the coils.

After a good scrubbing I gots to building. I build in 28 and 24 gauge wire with some twisted coils some micro coils. Dual coils. Single coils. Played with the airflow. Build from 1.5 down to .4 to get a solid feel for the thing. Somehow the pictures of this are lost to the void never to be seen again. I was using a stingray as my tester mod through all of this.

So now come the question. What do I actually put this on for it to look good. Well the answer was fairly obvious to me. Hana mod (clone). Without the super drip tip of doom its a short wide RDA and would look great on a box mod and black on black is always nice. So I go to toss it on my Hana. This is where the trouble began. I don’t know if I have one with a messed up 510 or what but it will not screw into my Hana. This is as far as it will screw in. To say I was disappointed is an understatement. You can see in that pic how good it would have looked. I did a few more test fits with what I had laying about. It did fit my 4nine, my caravelle and my nemesis but did not fit my Akuma. Like I said I think I may just have gotten one with a bad 510.

So overall what do I think about it? I like the thing. With a different drip tip and the right mod the thing could look amazing. I just wish it would have fit my Hana, it could have been a daily carry for me, as it is I’ll keep it around for when I’m doing rebuilds on other RDAs.

TL;DR: Kinda funny looking but a nice little RDA. Would buy.

Thank you to Angelcigs for the chance to review this.

Leave a comment